In the 1920s and 1930s, the renowned Coney Island Boardwalk, located in the Brooklyn borough of New York City, was home to one of America’s biggest amusement park destinations. Opened from 1903 to 1964, Steeplechase Park — one of the first Coney Island amusement parks — was one of the leading attractions of its day.
Pictured above, Parachute Jump — the only part of Steeplechase Park still standing today — towers over a bustling Coney Island in the 1950s. Originally built for the New York World’s Fair in 1939, the ride quickly became a NYC landmark. And although it discontinued operating when the park closed, the “Eiffel Tower of Brooklyn,” as it’s often called, became listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.
Today, Coney Island remains a popular summer attraction, chock-full of fun and entertainment the whole family can enjoy.
Check back every week in August for our Vintage Summer Throwback Thursdays!